So you want to become a Notary Public! Well, if you are in the State of Florida, applicants must:
1 Be at least 18 years of age
2 United States Citizen (if not a U.S. Citizen, the applicant must also submit a recorded Declaration of Domicile from the local courthouse)
3 Florida Resident (A FL driver's license number is required. If the applicant does not have a FL driver's license, a photocopy of one of the following is required: FL identification card, FL voter's registration card, FL homestead exemption, income tax form, recorded Declaration of Domicile, or a sworn Affidavit of Residency.)
4 No Felony Record (if an applicant has a felony conviction, or one which adjudication was withheld, additional documentation is required)
New applicants are required to complete a three hour course on the duties of Notary Public. The State of Florida offers a free online notary education course here – upon successful completion they also provide the certificate necessary to apply for your notary commission.
Florida state law also requires that a notary public post bond in the amount of $7,500.00, usually something you would purchase at the time you buy your seal/stamp.
Good luck to you!